Information Release
Arkansas State Highway and Transportation Department

September 22, 2014

LITTLE ROCK (9-22) - The Arkansas State Highway Commission has approved a bid for improvements to roadways in Pulaski County, according to Arkansas State Highway and Transportation Department (AHTD) officials.

The purpose of the project is to widen 5 miles of Interstate 40 from two to three lanes and widen two ramp lanes in the Interstate 430/Interstate 40 Interchange in North Little Rock. The widening of Interstate 40 will extend east from Highway 365 (Morgan) to the Interstate 40/430 Interchange and will complete the widening of Interstate 40 to 3 lanes in each direction from North Little Rock to Conway. The ramps being widened are the I-40 eastbound to I-430 southbound ramp and the I-430 northbound ramp to I-40 westbound. 

McGeorge Contracting Company, Inc. of Pine Bluff, Arkansas was awarded the contract at $38,362,865.55.

Construction is scheduled begin in two to four weeks, weather permitting. 

This project is part of the 2012 Connecting Arkansas Program that will improve 450 miles of Arkansas’ interstates in the coming years. 

This project is scheduled to be complete by mid-2016.

Motorists should exercise caution when approaching and traveling through all highway work zones. Additional travel information can be found at or You can also follow us on Twitter @AHTD.

CAP News What is the Connecting Arkansas Program?

Through a voter-approved constitutional amendment, the people of Arkansas passed a 10-year, half-cent sales tax to improve highway and infrastructure projects.

CAP Projects Which Projects Are Being Funded By This program?

Thirty-six projects in 19 corridors across Arkansas are included in the CAP, which improves transportation connections to the four corners of Arkansas.

CAP Frequently Asked Questons Visit the FAQ Section For More Answers!

A collection of some of the most frequently asked questions concerning the Connecting Arkansas Program and the projects funded by the 10-year, half-cent sales tax.